Cross Country Coaching Staff | BYU Sports Camps

Cross Country Coaching Staff

Cross Country Coaching Staff

Patrick Shane

Since his arrival, BYU women's cross country coach Patrick Shane has turned the team into a team of dominance. With four NCAA Championship titles and three runner-up finishes, Shane has built a team that is nationally recognized as the team to beat year after year. Under Coach Shane's reign, the Cougars have powered their way into the national spotlight winning back-to-back national championships in 2001 and 2002. In his 26 seasons as coach of the Cougars, Shane has been named the National Cross Country Coach of the Year three times. In 1997, Shane and his team became the first BYU women's team to win a national title. Since then, he has guided his team to four national championships in 1997, 1999, 2000 and 2001.

Ed Eyestone

Two-time Olympian Ed Eyestone has established a team that is considered one of the elite distance programs in the nation. Since his arrival in 2000, the Cougars have won the Mountain West Conference Cross Country Championship eight of ten seasons as well as the West Coast Conference Cross Country Championship in 2011. Eyestone, a 10-time All-American at BYU and four-time national champion as an athlete, has guided his teams to greatness as the head coach. Eyestone's teams have been in the nation's top 25 every year, including a 5th in 2004, 4th in 2011 and 6th in 2012. Eyestone has coached nine cross country All-Americans to 14 All-American citations. Josh Rohatinsky won the national cross country championship in 2006, making Eyestone the only Division 1 coach to have coached the national champion and won a cross country title as an athlete. Eyestone's track athletes have been equally successful, garnering 42 All-American citations over the past decade. Three of these athletes have gone on to become NCAA champions; steeplechasers Kyle Perry in 2009 and Josh McAdams in 2006 and Miles Batty who won the indoor mile in 2011 and anchored the national champion distance medley relay team. McAdams earned a spot on the 2008 Olympic Team and Batty went on to set the indoor collegiate mile record of 3:54.54 in 2012.


BYU Sports Camps are open to any and all entrants, limited only by age, gender, and space in the camp.